Clallam County Public Utility District #1 is directed by a three-member board of commissioners elected by citizens of the county. For more information please review how the commissioners work with the PUD.

For Commission meeting notices and minutes of past meetings click here.


Commissioner Districts Represented Will Purser, District #1
Phone: (360) 565-3512

Vacant, District #2

Ted Simpson, District #3
Phone: (360)565-3525


The District map will help you find which Commissioner represents your district. This is easiest if you know your voting precinct as that is how the county is divided. Click here for a larger map.


Ted Simpson, President (District #3)

Commissioner Ted Simpson was elected in 1985.
He represents the 3rd District, which is the West part of Ted Simpson 2015 Small Filethe County.  Ted was born and raised in Clallam County and has been involved in his family’s electrical contracting business since 1964.  He is active in many Business and Civic groups; including Past President Port Angeles Chamber of Commerce, Past President Washington State PUD Association, and is currently Vice Chairman of the Port Angeles Business Association.

Commissioner Simpson is a proponent for safe, reliable, and
affordable utility service for all PUD customers.  “Our current challenge will be to integrate new renewable (Green) resources into our system at an affordable cost, while complying with State and Federal Laws”.

Will Purser, Vice President (District #1)

Will Purser 2015 Small File SizeWill Purser has served as District 1 PUD Commissioner since appointment in April 2001. He came to the PUD with 28 years of business and engineering experience in the energy industry. His background includes national and international siting and construction of power generation facilities, power sales, and electrical rate case intervenor before state Public Utility Commissions. He has experience in water treatment and waste disposal regulations and technologies. As a manager of health, safety, and environmental processes, he has worked with government agencies and public organizations to maximize performance in these areas. He is a Vietnam Era veteran, who attended undergraduate and graduate school on the GI Bill. Before retirement, he was a registered professional engineer in California, Colorado, and Texas.

Commissioner Purser is active in local community affairs, as evidenced by his membership in the Sequim Sunrise Rotary, the Meals on Wheels program, the Boys and Girls Club and the Sequim Dungeness Chamber of Commerce. He represents the PUD as a delegate to the Northwest Public Power Association and the Washington PUD Association Commissioners Roundtable. He is also on the Executive Board of Directors of Energy Northwest.

Will recognizes that the issues of energy, water, and waste disposal are critical to the quality of life of Clallam County residents now and in the future. Since these issues are becoming more complex and subject to pressures and forces outside the county, he wishes to apply his background and experience to make a positive contribution to the PUD Commission and the community. He is a strong advocate of utilities owned and controlled by the community and believes that public education and participation are essential to assure that the PUD continues to meet the needs of all its owners and customers.


Clallam County Public Utility District #1 is directed by a three-member board of commissioners elected by citizens of the county. Each commissioner represents a different sector of the county and serves a six-year term. Each commissioner also represents the District as a delegate to various business organizations. The terms are staggered so that a different commissioner stands for election every two years.

The Commissioners set utility policies and hire a General Manager to implement those policies.

Commissioners’ meetings are open to the public and start at 1:30 p.m.  Meetings are held the 2nd and 4th Mondays, monthly, at the PUD boardroom in the Carlsborg Main Office office.

Agendas are available prior to meetings here and also at each meeting.

Board positions of President, Vice President, and Secretary are established by the commissioners themselves on December of each year, following an election, for the ensuing two years.